New Jersey Domestic Violence Laws
A single charge of domestic violence in New Jersey can have a devastating effect on your life. Therefore, it is very important that you know and understand the various legalities of New Jersey domestic violence laws.
New Jersey Domestic Violence Laws | What is Domestic Violence?
In New Jersey, domestic violence is defined by law as the occurrence of one or more offenses listed in the Prevention of Domestic Violence Act of 1990 against another person. The listed offenses include assault, murder, kidnapping, terroristic threats, criminal restraint, sexual assault, false imprisonment, lewdness, criminal sexual contact, burglary, criminal mischief, criminal trespass, harassment, or stalking.
Victims of domestic violence are defined as someone who is 18 years of age or older or an emancipated minor who experienced violence by a:
- Former spouse
- Any person who is part of their present or former household
Although New Jersey domestic violence laws apply to people 18 years of age (or older) or emancipated minors, there are some instances where age isn’t considered.
Download Our Free Child Custody and Support Guide
New Jersey Domestic Violence Laws | Provisions of a Protective Order
A victim of domestic violence may pursue an emergency protective order. The judge may include provisions that keep the alleged perpetrator from returning to the premises, seizure of weapons, stop the alleged perpetrator from possessing a weapon, give possession of shared pets to the victim, give the victim exclusive possession to the home, list temporary child custody and parenting plan, order the perpetrator to compensate the victim for losses that resulted from the incident, order the perpetrator to counseling or to have a psychiatric evaluation, prohibit contact with the victim, and require the perpetrator to pay the victim’s living expenses.
Not all New Jersey protective orders will include every one of these provisions. Each case is unique and if you’ve been accused of domestic violence, you should seek the services of a New Jersey Domestic Violence Lawyer.
New Jersey Domestic Violence Laws | Contact an Attorney
If you’re facing an accusation of domestic violence in New Jersey, you need to take the allegation seriously. New Jersey domestic violence laws are extremely serious in nature. Do not wait to contact a New Jersey family lawyer who understands domestic violence laws. When you prepare for your free consultation with New Jersey domestic violence lawyer Tanya L. Freeman, bring a copy of the complaint that was filed against you. You should also bring a copy of the police report or any other documents.
If you have any questions regarding New Jersey domestic violence laws, please contact any of our four offices today to schedule a free consultation.